What if you broke the law and didn’t even know it?
Now that recreational marijuana is legal in Michigan, residents are understandably excited about indulging in this new habit. Unfortunately, there are still certain laws you need to understand.
Once you know the different laws and regulations, though, you can have high-quality marijuana brought right to your door. Keep reading to discover everything you need to know about Michigan cannabis laws and how to order recreational cannabis today!
Relatively speaking, the legalization of recreational marijuana in Michigan is fairly recent. Medical marijuana was legalized back in 2008, but recreational marijuana was legalized in 2018, and there weren’t legal sales until 2019.
Since this is so recent, many residents don’t yet know the basics, including the age requirement of buying recreational marijuana. As with alcohol sales, a resident must be 21 or older to both buy and legally consume cannabis products within the state.
Keep in mind that it is illegal for you to share marijuana that you buy with anyone who is under 21 years old, so make sure you stay on the right side of the law.
Now, you should know that Michigan cannabis laws are fairly strict about how much marijuana you can buy and possess. So if you end up buying and storing more than you should have, you can get in trouble with the law.
How much is too much? You are legally allowed to carry up to 70 grams of cannabis and 15 grams of concentrates. If you are caught with more cannabis than this on your person, then you may be fined up to $500.
How much overall weed can you have, though? According to the law, you can have up to 280 grams within your house. If you store any more than this, the police may think you are amassing enough to sell to other people!
Now, these are the rules that govern recreational marijuana users. But if you have a medical card, there are some additional rules that apply to your purchases.
For medical marijuana users, some of the same rules apply. For example, these users are also limited to carrying 70 grams of cannabis at a time, and they also must not have more than 280 grams of cannabis within their homes.
Medical marijuana users may also buy different products that have been infused with cannabis, and there are special restrictions on these products. For example, these users must buy no more than the following product amounts per month:
If you’re worried about accidentally buying too much, don’t be afraid to consult with a reliable local dispensary about your exact needs.
A few years ago, Michigan residents never imagined that recreational cannabis would be legalized. And if that isn’t convenient enough, you can actually have cannabis products delivered right to your door!
For recreational marijuana, this is relatively new. Medical marijuana users have been able to have their products delivered to their homes for many years now. But this only happened for recreational marijuana users thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Since recreational delivery came about due to COVID-19, it may not be available indefinitely. Our advice is that you should start having recreational products delivered to you right away. In other words, you should get while the getting is good!
It’s one thing to get high in the comfort of your own home. However, Michigan has placed some restrictions on where you can get high. And one of the simplest restrictions is that you cannot get high and then get behind the wheel.
If you are caught either driving while high or getting high inside your vehicle, you may face several possible penalties. These penalties include a $300 fine, 360 hours of community service, and even 93 days behind bars!
There is nothing illegal about simply driving with your weed safely stored away (for example, bringing it home after a trip to the dispensary). But never drive it across state lines because that is a federal crime!
Much like drunk driving laws, it makes a lot of sense that you are not allowed to get high and operate a vehicle. But this brings us to the next obvious question: where, exactly, are you allowed to get high?
The short answer is that you are only legally allowed to get high in private places. This includes property you own or property a friend or family member owns so long as you have their permission. If you rent your home, you technically need to get your landlord’s permission before you get high.
Otherwise, it is a civil infraction to get high in any public place. And if you do so on government property, you are committing a federal crime.
One of the best things about marijuana being legal in Michigan is that you have plenty of dispensaries. Unfortunately, some dispensaries are better than others! If you’re going to regularly enjoy marijuana in this state, it’s important that you find a dispensary you can rely on.
What are the hallmarks of a good dispensary? Look for a place that has many positive user reviews indicating it is a place of quality.
You should also find a dispensary that delivers. And, of course, make sure they deliver to your area!
Finally, try to find a place offering different deals and specials each week. This can help you save money while you experience something new from time to time.
Now you know about the Michigan cannabis laws and how to find high-quality cannabis. But do you know who can deliver amazing marijuana products right to your door?
Here at The River, we make it easy for new smokers and veterans alike to find the products they need. To see what we can do for you and your own needs, just contact us today!
Sign up for our daily deals and promotions at The River!Sign Up Now